Why PR?

Upon my High School graduation, and going to college I had no clue what I wanted to do.  I thought of all the really cool majors I could have, and what it is that I want to do with the rest of my life.  After some close thought when entering college I for sure thought that marketing is what I wanted to do, and even narrower sports marketing.

My classes in the school of business my freshmen year were really interesting, but for some reason I just didn’t feel like it was the correct fit for me.  I really liked the marketing portion, but decided the school of business was just not for me, and shortly after I became a public relations major.

I love to write, and be creative, but did not want to be a journalist, and when talking to my friend who was a public relations major it seemed that it was the perfect fit.  The following semester I took my first PR class, and absolutely fell in love!  We were writing press releases, designing brochures, and even got some real hands on experience with public relations in the final four!  After that class I knew that I was finally in the right field and in the right school.  I could do anything I wanted with my major, and PR is used in such a variety of fields from sports to medicine.

Now that I am knee deep into my major, I have not only learned a lot, but have found how PR is all around me.  I love how I can make connections from class to what I see during my day to day life.

-Alex Runjo

Leave a comment

Filed under Butler, creative, PR, PRSSA, Public Relations

Leave a Reply

